Skip to main content

Guest Reviews

Read What Guests are Saying about Their Stay

At La Tourelle, we welcome each guest who comes through our door as family. For as long as you’re with us, members of the Wiggins family will make you feel completely at home in our intimate 54-room hotel, bistro and spa. If you are considering a stay with us, please read our reviews below to learn what past guests have to say about their experience at our hotel in Ithaca, New York. We hope that after staying with us, you will agree. 

I’ve stayed at La Tourelle several times in the past few years, and each time it’s been excellent. First, it’s nice. Nice rooms, well maintained, and very clean. Comfortable beds. Second, the bistro is excellent. We get breakfast whenever we stay, and everything we have gotten has always been great. Plus, they’ve added more options to the menu, so there are some better values. Last, the value for the room is great and the pricing is consistent. Overall, a great place to stay and eat. (It’s so convenient to be able to eat right at the hotel.)

I should add that sometimes we hike in Buttermilk Falls State Park, which is accessible from the grounds.
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family

Anonymous

I loved it. It has all the luxury sweet service and details of a truly luxe hotel, like the Hay-Adams, say. But it's in the country, in a giant farmhouse type buidling. It's amazing. The room was super-clean with hardwood floors and a nice oriental-type rug, a very comfortable bed with a white and obviously nice and clean duvet, which i appreciated, and a terrific big balcony and jetted tub....I was in Ithaca for very heavy duty stressful stuff on mind and body, and I needed a quiet and comfortable place to rest and recover from the days, and what an awesomely wonderful retreat one can have at La Tourelle. It was so quiet and peaceful, and the view was just amazing. I had a fireplace king on the side facing the gazebos. The other fireplace kings face the parking lot, so spring for the few extra dollars and get the nice view. Fireplace kings also have nice renovated baths; i can't speak for the other rooms but you can call the hotel and ask whoever answers the phone. It's a family run hotel, owned and run by the Wiggins family since the 1960s. I met at least three members of the family working there-- I think they may live there, but I don't know... My room rate included breakfast or lunch ($15.95 without the voucher) and it was really great food--delivered by room service for an extra couple dollars. Booking on the La Tourelle website directly got me a very steep discount, call the hotel before booking on a third party website. There is an extremely good steakhouse on the property, the John Thomas Steakhouse, that also delivers room service. I hate eating alone in restaurants when i travel, so this is a big deal for me. They literally brought everything on a silver platter, with real plates and no disposable stuff (way nicer than even a good chain hotel). The room had a few bookshelves with a bunch of books, that someone had organized by jacket color--and there is a game room in the lobby with a fireplace and a wine-tasting every afternoon. i didn't partake of that either, but the participants looked like they were enjoying it. There is coffee and tea in the lobby 24-7, and fresh baked cookies every afternoon. there is no "con" for me to give you a "pro and con" of this hotel. Just stay there, you will love it. Thanks very much, Wiggins family and all your staff, I loved it and you probably don't know how much you helped me out with your comfortable and quiet hotel, and your great meals. I hope to return another time, just for fun :-) be well everyone!
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: view facing gazebos was super nice

Anonymous

Enjoyed a relaxing weekend at this place with the hubby. Love the spa, the view and the plush robes and towels.Couple min away from Cornell University. I really enjoyed the free happy hour. Cheese and wine served were all locallysourced and was very good. Everyone was very pleasant including the family ownership. Would highly recommend and will stay here again. Thank You for the pleasant home away from home on Easter weekend.
 
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple

Anonymous

I liked the laid back vibe, spacious rooms, cleanliness, wine & cheese, and will definitely stay again when we are in town again!! There is a trailhead near the hotel if you are into hiking. Check it out!
Date of stay: February 2019

Anonymous

My wife and I found this beautiful hotel for our 17th anniversary and wife's 65th birthday and couldnt believe how clean and beautiful the room and all the staff were. Cameron and his team took care of us like family and the bistro spa and steakhouse on the premise are second to none. We will be coming back to this gem! Undoubtedly the best time I could have imagined we love this place and recommend to all.
Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple

Anonymous

My husband and I were touring the Fingerlake region after dropping our daughter off at college. My sister recommended this gem of a hotel and it was everything she said and more. The room was large and spotless and everything you could need. The staff was wonderful, offering advice for things to do and places to eat in the area. Every evening there is a happy hour where local wines are served. We had a blast chatting with the bartender and other guests of the hotel. The bistro had a delicious breakfast which we enjoyed both days of our stay. Nice variety and yummy baked goods. The lobby is covered in posters of famous guests who stayed there- it was very cool to look them over. My husband and I also enjoyed the hike down Buttemilk Falls. Best part was calling the inn for a return ride, Scott picked us up and met us with cold water bottles. We had a great time at La Tourelle and look forward to going back!
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple

Anonymous

Wonderful place to stay! The staff and owners of this family business are knowledgeable, friendly and accommodating. They offer an awesome happy hour! Great location and spacious rooms. I hope to be back to stay soon!
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple

Anonymous

Great friendly staff, beautiful grounds, nice accommodations, minutes away from Downtown and other local sites. The rooms were very clean and decorated very well. There is a Bistro downstairs that hands-down had some of the best breakfast food we've ever eaten. We spent a whole day of vacation just in the hotel. There is also a great steak place a mere walking-distance right next to the hotel. The staff was very informative about all the things and places to visit and how long they would take to get there and actually do, it really helped us plan better. Would love to come back again!
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: We stayed in both the "Valley" rooms and "Sunrise" rooms, both were great!

Anonymous

We came up to drop my daughter up at college for summer courses and due to complications we had to extend our stay for the week . The staff could not have been nicer and more accommodating. They had to switch our rooms midway through because they had our room booked but they were accommodating and we actually moved to a nicer room.

The breakfasts are delicious a decent deal, and the ambiance is very country and friendly. The rooms are for the most part large (each room is different which adds a certain charm to the place) and they clean thoroughly. The grounds are nice and well-tended. By the way the guy pulling weeds on the property can likely be the owner. That’s if you don’t find him helping out in the kitchen. You’ll probably have other members of the family serving you breakfast or pouring wine at the bar.

Cameron the manager was super as was Kim, Gary, and the rest of the front desk staff. I actually had to end up borrowing tools from Cameron to fix up my daughters apartment and he was quick to lend them as well as advice on getting work done.

Ithaca doesn’t have many great places to stay. A few very few decent hotels in town, but this place which is only 4 hundred yards from Ithaca college and 3 miles from Cornell is the bomb. I almost didn’t want to write it so it doesn’t fill up when I need to go. This is a very unique place I hope to return soon .
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family

 

Anonymous

Our room had a balcony and valley view. We spent our evenings watching the sunset and admiring the lovely grounds of the hotel. Calm and peaceful spot to read and enjoy a drink. The large grounds are a pleasure to walk through. The hotel is a short ride or walk from Buttermilk Falls State Park and not far from Lake Treman State Park. There was swimming at the falls at Robert Treman Park. Several other state parks are just a little further. Ithaca Commons is a short ride and has much out door dining & takeout. The hotel has many gazebos with tables in which you can eat your takeout meal. The room had comfortable bed, a nice flat tv, a fridge a Keurig coffee maker and a large bathroom with two sinks. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is an open stairway, making it easy to distance. We only used the elevator to bring up our luggage. Good place to safely vacation during COVID. All of the staff wore masks, as did the guests, when indoors.

Anonymous

Our room had a balcony and valley view. We spent our evenings watching the sunset and admiring the lovely grounds of the hotel. Calm and peaceful spot to read and enjoy a drink. The large grounds are a pleasure to walk through. The hotel is a short ride or walk from Buttermilk Falls State Park and not far from Lake Treman State Park. There was swimming at the falls at Robert Treman Park. Several other state parks are just a little further. Ithaca Commons is a short ride and has much out door dining & takeout. The hotel has many gazebos with tables in which you can eat your takeout meal. The room had comfortable bed, a nice flat tv, a fridge a Keurig coffee maker and a large bathroom with two sinks. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is an open stairway, making it easy to distance. We only used the elevator to bring up our luggage. Good place to safely vacation during COVID. All of the staff wore masks, as did the guests, when indoors.

Date of Stay - July 11, 2020

Anonymous

We stayed in July 2020, and first -- the staff and management do everything they need to do to keep guests safe and secure. Hand sanitizer is available in several places. Guests are asked to wear masks. They do it right.
As for the hotel, it's a lovely spot, family run, without any corporate cookie-cutter feel. It's a friendly place, with grounds where you can eat outside (a few gazebos and other seating). Our room was quite nice, well appointed, and very comfortable. The attached bistro (open for breakfast and lunch) was staffed with kind, cheery people.

Anonymous

La Tourelle has been our go-to place in Ithaca for the past 4 years while my daughter has been a student there. We went up last weekend to help her bring stuff home and decided to spend the night. My son and I drove up and we were so happy to be back. The hotel was spotless, everyone was wearing masks and adhering to guidelines for Covid. We enjoyed a delicious Bistro breakfast which was delivered to our door by staff wearing PPE. We really can’t say enough good things about it here. When the spa is open - that’s a must do too!

Date of Stay - May 30, 2020

Anonymous

My mom has stayed at La Tourelle for over 10 years while coming to visit me when I was at Ithaca College. She had an extended stay my junior year for 2 weeks while I was having a tough time (mental breakdown) and they gave her a fantastic rate. They gave us another amazing rate for my graduation party in 2011 and catered the party. They recently just allowed me to stay for 5 nights during COVID-19 for an incredible rate while I was going through a painful breakup and needed to leave my boyfriend's house. They have been lifesavers for us over and over again, and I refuse to have friends or fam stay anywhere else!

The owners are a fantastic family, the grounds are gorgeous (looks like a French-inspired castle), always clean and comfortable, they will do their best to accommodate you, and the front desk staff is WONDERFUL! (especially Lisa, Mika, and Emma!) The trail is epic down to the waterfall/Treman Lake. The rooms are nicely decorated and cozy, can't beat the fireplaces and the view out your back deck. One of my favorite country hotels ever.

April 21, 2020

Anonymous

My wfie and I operate a small, highly honored Hamptons Inn. We understand the challenges of operating accommodations so will virtually never write a bad review. However, the only times we will write a good review is if we feel a property has the same priorities as ours : Peace, tranquillity, great service . However, most important are safety and cleanliness. This was our second stay at La Tourelle and if possible, it was even better than the first. We were visiting Cornell and despite the fact it is a touch further (only 2 1/2 -3 miles or so) away than some of the downtown Hotels, we decided to stay at La Tourelle again. We would encourage other Cornellians and Cornell families to do the same.

Date of Stay - January 26, 2020

Anonymous